Learning Curve

Unfortunately, $20 USD was taken from a ziplock bag in my open backpack in my hostel room. When I counted the four folded 20s knowing there should be five, I was really irritated. I can’t decide whether I was more upset by the fact that I can’t trust the staff and I have to hide my valuables (we don’t have a safe), or if losing 20 dollars is my concern. Probably a combination of both. I noticed the missing money last night when we got back from a long, hot day on the beach and my reaction was definitely affected by my urgent need for a shower and food. Looking back now, I’m not sure what I expected from a house keeper who could probably feed her family for a week with my 20 bucks. Right, perspective. I really should know better than to leave money lying around. It’s amazing how fast your relationship with money changes in a place like this. Already, 20 dollars feels like a lot of money.

Now the question is, do I say something to the front desk? Either way, I’m not going to get my money back, but do I owe it to myself and other travellers to make it clear that stealing isn’t okay? I’m definitely going to write a review online. If anyone has experience with this sort of thing or a suggestion, let me know. 

I suppose this could be a blessing in disguise. I’ve learnt my lesson early in the trip and I didn’t lose much. 

Hopefully her kids got a nice treat for Halloween. 

-Glowie 

2 comments

  1. John Murphy · November 2, 2015

    Hey Chloe – not sure what to recommend. Maybe leave a small amour of money out as a kind of tip. Make it as difficult as possible for them to steal real money. Make a secret compartment in your bag. I’ve sometimes hidden money in my deodorant. Whatever works!
    Cheers,
    John

    Liked by 1 person

    • glowiedolores · November 2, 2015

      Thanks Murphy, it was mostly an oversight on my part. Thanks for your suggestions!

      Like

Leave a comment